Love and Respect

Love and Respect

I recently read a book with my husband called Love & Respect by Emerson Eggerichs and it changed our marriage. Up until we read this book we thought our marriage was pretty good. We knew we needed God as the center of our marriage but we didn’t understand each others needs according to Jesus Christ.

As a woman I always thought, why should I respect anyone if they don’t deserve it? I didn’t understand what it meant when God said in Ephesians 5:21-22 “And further, you will submit to one another out of reverence for Christ. You wives will submit to your husbands as you do to the Lord”.  Submit to my husband, did that mean to respect him? I thought, well, I respect him as a man but did I respect him unconditionally? I wondered, is that even possible? I knew it was possible to love someone unconditionally but to respect them unconditionally, how could I possibly do that? I didn’t understand when I questioned a decision my husband made, I was disrespecting him. Now i’m not saying I never question his decisions but there is a different way to go about it. You can ask questions but don’t discount their words, don’t say they are wrong because YOU know better. It is not our job as wives to “fix” or “lead” our husbands. But it is God’s place to lead our husbands and our husbands jobs to lead us wives. It is our jobs to pray for our husbands. How can our husbands lead if we’re busy trying to tell them how to lead? God designed Marriage for the wife to be the helper. We as wives are called to be polite not rude, not to nag and to respect his position. And whatever you do, DO NOT attempt to undermine or correct your husband in public. This i’ve learned is pretty much a punch in the face. I could go on for days but I would rather you just read the book.

I now understand after having my eyes opened through this wonderfully written book how to unconditionally love my husband and how important this is if I want to honor Jesus Christ. Now, i’m no where near perfect but i’m working on it everyday. We are called to encourage our husbands and lift them up! The Lord brought them into our lives for His will to be done, we must honor God and respect our husbands! Trust that with your efforts and faith in Christ, you will see tremendous fruits in your marriage. Keep at it, respect your husband unconditionally and be the best helper you can be! Let God lead our husbands, because after all, we believe God has power over all right?!

 

Thanks for reading,

Mama GilleanπŸ’›

So Again I say, each man must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.

Ephesians 5:33

3 thoughts on “Love and Respect

Leave a Reply

