DIY Deodorant

DIY Deodorant

Being a crunchy mama in training, my journey has been full of trial and error. The more you learn, research and do the more you want to replace pretty much everything in your home. You will find recipes for homemade cleaning products as well as personal hygiene products. If your anything like me your very eager to try them all!

I usually start with the recipe or post that has the best feedback comments. But that isn’t always full proof. I’ve had my fair share of cleaning product disasters. Sometimes I wonder if these people actually use their product or if they are just making these recipes up. Who knows!?

So while doing some research I came across one of my favorite blogs DIY Natural and I found many awesome recipes. Now I’m not saying all are right on because I truly believe everything won’t work for everyone. You have to take and modify according to your family’s needs. So I found this amazing Deodorant recipe on their site. My husband and I have been using this mixture of grain alcohol and melaleuca oil for almost a year now. We really like it and would recommend it to anyone looking for a natural alternative. I can attest to the wonderful job this deodorant has done with a first hand experience. While you use something everyday you wonder if it’s really working. One day I completely forgot to spray some on and by the time I got home, boy did I stink! I personally don’t like the smell of onions on my pits so once I got home I sprayed it on and wha-la! Instantly the funk was gone and I was only sweaty. I was so excited I had to go tell my husband to smell my pits. Yuck! To his surprise he asked what I did and I shared. I loved the instant action, we will never go back to store bought deodorant, and might I add this mixture is super cheap and will last months!

What you will need

  • Grain alcohol (everclear) You can find this at your local liquor store
  • Melaleuca essential oil
  • Glass Spray bottle 

You can add any other essential oils if you would like for the fragrance or other anti-microbial properties.

Also a reminder, spray may sting for a second if put on right after you shave your arm pits.

What do you use for deodorant? Share in the comments below.

 

Thank you for reading.

Mama Gillean πŸ’›

In my inner being I delight in God’s law.

Romans 7:22

 

Leave a Reply

